Re: Homerun vs 4 Base Error
Posted by Doc on January 13, 2020, 10:49 am, in reply to "Homerun vs 4 Base Error"
The rule about a touched or not touched ball was changed a few years ago. It is pretty simple but "experts" always try to spin the rule to make it confusing. |
The rule was changed, not for fielding % but to demarcate the difference between a HR or not, in a HR limited game and a ball that is counted as a HR to go against HR limitations. 4 base award does not count against HR totals. Previous to this, umpires had to determine the position of a 12" ball, 300'-350' away (anterior to posterior positioning, not just fair or foul)
No fielder is being punished by the rule. They still have the ability to go for a ball that has left the playing field and catch it for an out or let it go over. Simple interpretation is that if the fielder touches the ball, it does not count against the home run total.
Purists will find this to be uncomfortable, but participants want more HRs.
So, this rule accomplishes 2 things: 1) Gives umpires a more consistent call on a ball 300'away from them 2) Gives teams the ability to hit more HRs.
If you have a major beef with this or any other rulings, please contact your State Director to discuss it and possibly send in a rule change request.