[ Post a Response | The Old Scout Message Board ]
Re: Can someone please explain what happened on this play?
The timing rule as thoroughly and clearly explained by Jason was the same when I started umping 53 years ago. Here is another play which hopefully most of you will get correct. No umpires should answer: Bases loaded, 2 outs. Batter hits in the gap and all runners score and batter ends up on 3rd. Ump calls time. Pitcher on rubber waits for the ump to call play and he appeals that the runner from first missed 2nd. Umpire saw that he missed the base and calls the runner out. How many runs score? This exact play happened in a World Tournament in Detroit in around 1975