[ Post a Response | The Old Scout Message Board ]
Re: Poll: Should the pitcher still have to touch 1st base on a walk?
Since most batter-led delays are from stepping out of the box after a called strike that they disagree with, do we really think that an umpire is going to call a second strike for the delay, thus striking them out? No way. I also don’t see an umpire wanting to deal with making a batter start with a 1-2 count due to a “get ready” routine; you could also say that the inevitable arguments resulting from that would take up more time than just letting the batter take their 5 cuts up the first base line.
Great ideas in theory, but impractical.